UMD's Bob Nielson in the Running for 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award

By KBJR News 1

UMD's Bob Nielson in the Running for 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award

October 2, 2012 Updated Oct 2, 2012 at 2:19 PM CDT

Duluth, MN (Northland's NewsCenter) -- UMD Head Football Coach, Bob Neilson, is in the running for the 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year.

Fans can help bring $70,000 to the Duluth community by voting for Neilson for the award.

Nielson earned the honor after leading the Bulldogs to their second NCAA Division II title and third straight NCIS crown.

Anyone can tweet their vote daily for Coach Nielson at coachoftheyear.com

The winner of each division will receive $50,000 to donate to charities of their choice, and their school's alumni association will obtain $20,000 for programming and student scholarships.

"This is a great opportunity to recognize our fantastic football coach and to support local charities and student scholarships. We can make a difference in our community - please vote every day!" said Lisa Pratt, UMD Alumni Director.

The 2012 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year voting is a process involving fans, College Football Hall of Fame players and coaches, and college football media.

From September 12 through December 1, fans can tweet their vote once daily at coachoftheyear.com

On December 4, the finalists will be announced; 10 coaches from the FBS and five coaches from the FCS, Division II, and Division III will be chosen.

From December 4 through December 20, the finalist voting will open to all fans at coachoftheyear.com

Votes are casted by two select panels, one representing the College Football Hall of Fame, and one comprised of select members of the media.

Members of the panels include: Archie Manning, Lou Holtz, Vince Dooley, Ronnie Lot, Archie Griddin, and famed sports analysts including Ivan Maisel, Stewart Mandel and Tim Brando.

Winners are determined using the following voting criteria: Fans 20%, College Football Hall of Fame 55%, and Media 25%.

On January 7, the Coach of the Year Award winners will be announced in advance of the BCS championship game in South Florida.

How to vote for Coach Nielson:
1. Go to coachoftheyear.com2. Click on the yellow 'Sign in with Twiiter to Vote' button.
3. Authorize the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year app to use your Twitter account.
4. Type in Bob Nielson or University of Minnesota Duluth in the search box.
5. Click on 'Bob Nielson - University of Minnesota Duluth.'
6. Click 'Tweet Your Vote.'

Posted to the web by Jenna Vogt