Minnesota Given Waiver from No Child Left Behind

By KBJR News 1

Minnesota Given Waiver from No Child Left Behind

February 9, 2012 Updated Feb 9, 2012 at 12:02 PM CDT

Washington, D.C. (Northland's NewsCenter) --- Minnesota is among 10 states that have agreed to implement bold reforms in the standards of education in order to receive a waiver from No Child Left Behind.

President Barack Obama will officially announce later today that Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oklahoma, and Tennessee have all been granted a waiver from No Child Left Behind.

The President says that No Child Left Behind has been 5 years overdue for a rewrite and plans to work with Congress to fix the law.

The 10 states that were able to receive the waiver from No Child Left Behind had to implement college and career level standards for their schools. The states also had to create plans to monitor teacher and principal development and use evaluations for students that went beyond test scores.

The states who received the waiver no longer have to meet the 2012 targets set by the No Child Left Behind law.

New Mexico is the only state that was not given the waiver from the education law.

Posted to the web by Krista Burns

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.