Fiscal Cliff Averted, Area Lawmakers Vote

By KBJR News 1

Fiscal Cliff Averted, Area Lawmakers Vote

January 2, 2013 Updated Jan 2, 2013 at 2:51 PM CDT

(NNCNOW.com) -- Nearly 24 hours after the New Year deadline, the Republican-controlled House voted 257-167 to pass a bill designed to avoid a so-called fiscal cliff; here's how Minnesota and Wisconsin lawmakers voted.

In the House, DFL Representatives Tim Walz, Betty McCollum, Keith Ellison and Republican John Kline voted to support the Senate measure, MPR reports.

For those voting 'no' on the bill include, Republican Representatives Erik Paulsen, Michele Bachmann, Chip Cravaack and DFL Representative Collin Peterson.

Wisconsin Republican Representative Sean Duffy voted against the bill.

The Star Tribune says that Democrat Herb Kohl and Republican Ron Johnson also voted in favor of the legislation.