Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Honor Eludes Nielson

By KBJR News 1

Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Honor Eludes Nielson

January 7, 2013 Updated Jan 7, 2013 at 3:52 PM CDT

Duluth, MN (NNCNOW.com) --- Former University of Minnesota-Duluth (UMD) head football coach Bob Nielson was not named Monday as the 2012 recipient of the Liberty Mutual Division II coach of the year award, with the winner instead being the University of New Haven's Peter Rossomando.

Nielson was one of five finalists named for the national award, that after leading UMD to a (10-2) overall record in 2012 and a fifth straight NCAA tournament.

It would have marked the second time Nielson had won the Liberty Mutual award, with the first coming after the 2010 season in which the Bulldogs went (15-0) and won the NCAA Division II championship.

Nielson left UMD this past December after his 10th year coaching to take the head coaching job at the University of Western Illinois. In his time with the Bulldogs, Nielson posted an overall record of (100-26) and won two NCAA Division II championships.

Posted by Zach Schneider
Bio - Facebook - Twitter - E-Mail