NCHC Adds Two New Members

By KBJR News 1

NCHC Adds Two New Members

September 22, 2011 Updated Sep 22, 2011 at 2:27 PM CDT

Colorado Springs, CO (Northland's NewsCenter) --- St. Cloud State and Western Michigan have accepted invitations to join the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC), which will begin play in the 2013-14 season.

Those two schools will join founding institutions UMD, North Dakota, Denver, Colorado College, Nebraska-Omaha, and Miami (OH) in the brand-new men's college hockey conference.

“This is a great day for the National Collegiate Hockey Conference to have these two outstanding institutions accept the invitations to become members of what we believe will be the premier college hockey conference in the United States,” said North Dakota athletics director Brian Faison.

The acceptance came only one day after the NCHC extended invitations to the two schools, and leaves the new conference's membership at eight.

“For us to align ourselves with the some of the most storied programs in Division I college hockey," Western Michigan athletics director Kathy Beauregard said, "provides the opportunities for our student-athletes, coaches, and our terrific fan base to be at the forefront of the sport that allows us to pursue our goal of competing and winning at the highest level."

“We are delighted to join the National Collegiate Hockey Conference,” St. Cloud State president Dr. Earl Potter said. “We believe that the conference’s strength of play and commitment to college hockey and student-athletes is strong and deep and we look forward to an exciting future with [the NCHC]."

St. Cloud State will continue playing the next two seasons in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA), while Western Michigan will continue playing in the Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA).

Posted by Zach Schneider