NCHC to Launch Inaugural Season with Eight Teams

By KBJR News 1

NCHC to Launch Inaugural Season with Eight Teams

October 3, 2011 Updated Oct 3, 2011 at 5:58 PM CDT

Colorado Springs, CO (Northland's NewsCenter) --- The National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) will play its inaugural season as an eight-team conference, it was announced this week.

The defending national champion UMD Bulldogs are one of the six founding institutions of the new conference, which will begin play in the 2013-14 season.

Joining UMD in the new league are five other current WCHA schools --- North Dakota, Denver, Colorado College, Nebraska-Omaha, and St. Cloud State --- and two current CCHA schools --- Miami (OH) and Western Michigan.

“We are very confident with our decision and excited to move forward as a strong eight-team conference,” said conference spokesman Brian Faison. “As we have stated many times, it is our goal to establish the National Collegiate Hockey Conference as the premier conference in men’s hockey and there’s no question in our minds that we are well positioned to do so with our membership."

Dating back to the year 2000, the NCHC boasts four NCAA national champions, 14 NCAA Frozen Four appearances, 12 conference regular-season championships, and 10 conference tournament championships.

All eight members were participants in the NCAA tournament in one or both of the last two seasons.

Posted by Zach Schneider