New York, NY ( --- The National Hockey League (NHL) Board of Governors on Thursday morning approved a realignment plan proposed last week, with the new system featuring a two-conference, four-division plan. Minnesota will remain in the Western Conference, but the Wild will now play in the temporarily-named Division B along with Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Nashville, St. Louis, and Winnipeg. Right now the divisions are being referred to as A, B, C, and D. Permanent names will be assigned to each division at a later date. The top three teams in each division will make the playoffs, with the remaining four wild card spots going to the next two highest finishers in each conference. Below are listed the entire realignment plan accepted by the Board, with Detroit and Columbus moving to the Easter Conference while Winnipeg slides to the Western Conference. WESTERN CONFERENCE --- DIVISION A Anaheim Ducks Calgary Flames Edmonton Oilers Los Angeles Kings Phoenix Coyotes San Jose Sharks Vancouver Canucks WESTERN CONFERENCE --- DIVISION B Chicago Blackhawks Colorado Avalanche Dallas Stars Minnesota Wild Nashville Predators St. Louis Blues Winnipeg Jets EASTERN CONFERENCE --- DIVISION C Boston Bruins Buffalo Sabres Detroit Red Wings Florida Panthers Montreal Canadiens Ottawa Senators Tampa Bay Lightning Toronto Maple Leafs EASTERN CONFERENCE --- DIVISION D Columbus Blue Jackets Carolina Hurricanes New Jersey Devils New York Islanders New York Rangers Philadelphia Flyers Pittsburgh Penguins Washington Capitals Posted by Zach Schneider Bio - Facebook - Twitter - E-Mail