Northern Sun Conference Officially at 16 Teams

By KBJR News 1

Northern Sun Conference Officially at 16 Teams

July 2, 2012 Updated Jul 3, 2012 at 5:32 PM CDT

Burnsville, MN (Northland's NewsCenter) --- The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC), as of July 1, officially consists of 16 teams after the vote to expand came in January of 2012.

The conference welcomes the University of Sioux Falls and Minot State University, with those two institutions to begin participation in the NSIC in the 2012-13 athletic season.

The conference will now consist of two divisions, with UMD set to play in the north division along with Bemidji State, Mary, Minnesota-Crookston, Minnesota State-Moorhead, Minot State, Northern State, and St. Cloud State.

The south division, meanwhile, will be made up of Augustana, Concordia-St. Paul, Minnesota State-Mankato, Sioux Falls, Southwest Minnesota State, Upper Iowa, Wayne State, and Winona State.

This marks the second expansion for the NSIC in the past two four years, with the last coming in 2008 when it went from 10 teams to 14.

Posted by Zach Schneider
Bio - Facebook - Twitter - E-Mail