Three Ex-Bulldogs Make Canada Olympic Team

By KBJR News 1

December 23, 2013 Updated Dec 23, 2013 at 10:54 PM CDT

Duluth, MN (NNCNOW.com) --- Former University of Minnesota Duluth (UMD) women's hockey players Caroline Ouellette, Haley Irwin, and Jocelyn Larocque have made the final roster for Team Canada ahead of the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympic Games, it was announced on Monday.

It'll be the fourth Olympic Games for Ouellette, who has won the gold medal with Team Canada in each of her previous three appearances. The 2005 UMD graduate finished her collegiate career with 92 goals and 137 assists in 97 games played, and she still stands the program's all-time assists leader.

Irwin, meanwhile, will be making her second Olympic appearance after making the team in 2010 and winning a gold medal. She is a 2011 graduate of UMD and finished her Bulldogs career with 45 goals and 59 assists in 76 games played.

For Larocque, the 2014 Sochi Games will her first time representing Canada at the Olympics. Also a 2011 graduate of UMD, she finished her collegiate career with eight goals and 55 assists in 76 games.

Larocque being named to the team means UMD women's hockey has now produced 26 Olympians, with these three being added to Tea Villila and Jennifer Harss for the 2014 Games.

The list of UMD connections to Sochi might not stop at five, either. Current Bulldogs Marie Delarbe and Lara Stalder are still hopeful to make their country's roster, as is former Bulldog Jenni Asserholt.

Posted by Zach Schneider
Bio - Facebook - Twitter - E-Mail