Three 'Jackets Named to WIAC All-Conference Team

By KBJR News 1

Three 'Jackets Named to WIAC All-Conference Team

February 22, 2012 Updated Feb 22, 2012 at 5:18 PM CDT

Superior, WI (Northland's NewsCenter) --- Three UW-Superior men's hockey players have been named to the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) all-conference team, it was announced on Wednesday.

Jeff Forsythe, Pat Dalbec, and Kyle Leahy were all named to the first team all-WIAC team following their contributions to the Yellowjackets this season.

Forsythe was the top-scoring defenseman for UW-Superior with eight goals and six assists this season. He was also named this year to the Northern Collegiate Hockey Association all-conference team.

Dalbec was the leading scorer for UW-Superior this season with 13 goals and nine assists, giving him 41 total points during his two seasons with the team.

Leahy tied a career-high this season with six goals this season and also set a career-high with 18 points. He served as the Yellowjackets' co-captain during his junior season this year.

Joey Massingham, Derek Stauber, and Drew Strandberg were all given all-WIAC honorable mention, and Tom Budziakowski was named to the WIAC all-sportsmanship team and was a finialist for the Max Sparger scholar-athlete award.

The Yellowjackets were eliminated from the WIAC playoffs this past weekend, finishing the year with a record of (10-10-7).

Posted by Zach Schneider
Bio - Facebook - Twitter - E-Mail