VIDEO: Explanation of National Collegiate Hockey Conference

By KBJR News 1

July 13, 2011 Updated Jul 13, 2011 at 6:33 PM CDT

Colorado Springs, CO (Northland's NewsCenter) --- The head coaches and athletic directors of the six schools involved in forming the National Collegiate Hockey Conference formally announced the league on Wednesday afternoon.

UMD, North Dakota, Denver, Colorado College, Nebraska-Omaha, and Miami University will begin the new league starting in the 2013-2014 season.

Click on the link to view raw video from a webcast of Wednesday's news conference, as Denver head men's hockey coach George Gwozdecky explains some of the thinking behind the formation of the National Collegiate Hockey Conference.

Posted by Zach Schneider