Duluth East reaches AA consolation final

By KBJR News 1

August 6, 2010 Updated Mar 12, 2010 at 11:45 PM CDT

The Duluth East Greyhounds bounced back after an opening round loss on Thursday, with a 4-2 victory over Lakeville North in the Class AA consoaltion round on Friday.

Kevin Brazerol, Troy Olson, Nate Repensky, and Phil Johnson scored the goals, while Joe Jeanetta made 22 saves for Duluth East.

With the win, the Greyhounds will face Roseau for the Class AA consolation championship on Saturday at noon from Mariucci Arena.

On Thursday, the Greyhounds fell in the Class AA quarterfinals, losing 5-3 to Hill Murray.

Hill-Murray scored three unanswered goals in the final two periods to advance the semifinals as the Pioneers defeated Duluth East 5-3. Duluth East started off the scoring 3:06 into the game, when a defensive miscue by the Pioneers turned into an odd man rush where the Greyhounds Trevor Olson beat Hill-Murray goaltender Tim Shaughnessy high glove side knocking of the water bottle on top of the net. The Greyhounds would then score the games second goal at the 7:15 mark, when Nate Repensky’s shot found its way past Shaughnessy to give the Hounds a 2-0 lead. The Pioneers came roaring back scoring two goals in the final minute of the period that were ten seconds apart. Andy Faust scored the first goal and Ben Bahe netted the tying goal ten seconds later to make the score 2-2. The Hounds were not done for the period though as Dom Toninato scored with 15 seconds left in the stanza to give the Greyhounds a 3-2 lead going into the break.
The second period left off where the first period ended as the Pioneers scored two early goals to take a 4-3 lead. Willie Faust scored 18 seconds into the period and then Zach LaVelle scored 38 seconds later to give the Pioneers the lead. Jack Walsh added an insurance goal for the Pioneers when he slipped the puck past Shaughnessy thanks to a great feed by Zach LaVelle to give Hill-Murray a 5-3 as the Pioneers held on to that lead for the win.

Courtesy: MSHSL.org, Minnesota State High School League