Three Locals Up for Reed Larson Award

By KBJR News 1

Three Locals Up for Reed Larson Award

February 27, 2014 Updated Feb 27, 2014 at 6:29 PM CDT

(NNCNOW.com) --- Three Northlanders are among 18 finalists for the 2014 Reed Larson Award, which is given each year to the top senior defenseman in Minnesota boys' hockey.

Duluth East's Alex Trapp, Ely's Louis Gerzin, and Duluth Marshall's Kyle McKinzie are all finalists for the award, which is in its second year after the inaugural award went last season to Grand Rapids' Jake Bischoff.

The award winner will be decided based on academics, community service, extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, on-ice performance.

The winner of this year's award will be announced on March 4 and will be honored at the Class AA state tournament banquet on March 5.

Posted by Zach Schneider
Bio - Facebook - Twitter - E-Mail