Red Sox Win Their Third Title in Ten Seasons

By KBJR News 1

October 30, 2013 Updated Oct 30, 2013 at 11:03 PM CDT

Boston, MA (NNCNOW.com) --- The Boston Red Sox won their third championship in the past ten seasons on Wednesday night after beating the St. Louis Cardinals 6-1 in game six of the World Series at Fenway Park.

Designated hitter David Ortiz was named the Most Valuable Player (MVP) after reaching base at least 3 times in five straight World Series games.

John Lackey led Boston on the mound, pitching 6 2/3 innings while giving up nine hits and just one earned run. He also struck out five.

Shane Victorino, who sat out the past two games with a sore back, hit a two-out two-run double in the bottom of the third to get the Red Sox on the board. Victorino add another RBI in the fourth.

For the first time since 1918, the Red Sox clinched the World Series at Fenway Park. Boston joins the 1991 Minnesota Twins as the only other team to win the World Series after finishing in last place the year prior.

Posted by Sarah Wheeler
Bio - Facebook - Twitter - E-Mail