Illikainen Not Among Ms. Hockey Top Five Finalists

By KBJR News 1

Illikainen Not Among Ms. Hockey Top Five Finalists

February 17, 2012 Updated Feb 17, 2012 at 10:56 AM CDT

Grand Rapids, MN (Northland's NewsCenter) --- Grand Rapids-Greenway senior Molly Illikainen was not among the top five finalists named Thursday for the 2012 Ms. Hockey award in Minnesota.

The five finalists are Hannah Brandt (Hill-Murray), Hanna Brodt (Roseville), Jonna Curtis (Elk River-Zimmerman), Milica McMillen (Breck, and Lee Stecklein (Roseville).

The news came the same day Illikainen later sent her Lightning team to the Class AA state tournament with an unassisted goal in the fourth overtime of the section 7AA championship against Elk River-Zimmerman.

The last player from the Northland to win the Ms. Hockey award was Hibbing-Chisholm's Andrea Nichols in 2003.

Zach Schneider
Bio - Facebook - Twitter - E-Mail

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.