Three Bulldogs are Initial Hobey Baker Candidates

By KBJR News 1

Three Bulldogs are Initial Hobey Baker Candidates

January 7, 2013 Updated Jan 7, 2013 at 6:08 PM CDT

Duluth, MN (NNCNOW.com) --- University of Minnesota-Duluth (UMD) forwards Mike Seidel, Tony Camaranesi, and Austin Farley are among 77 initial candidates for the 2013 Hobey Baker Award, which is given each year to the best player in NCAA Division I men's college hockey.

Seidel and Camaranesi are tied for the team scoring lead through 20 games, each having put up 19 points as part of the top line for the Bulldogs.

The senior Mike Seidel has 11 goals and eight assists to this point, while the freshman Camaranesi had totaled eight goals and 11 assists.

Farley, another freshman for UMD, is third on the team in scoring with seven goals and nine assists for 16 points through the first 20 games for the Bulldogs.

The first phase of fan voting for the 2013 Hobey Baker Award opened on Jan. 7 and will run through March 10. Fans can cast their vote once a day at the Hobey Baker website.

UMD has more Hobey Baker winners (five) than any other school in the country, with the latest coming in 2012 when Duluth, Minn. native Jack Connolly won the award following his senior season with the Bulldogs.

Posted by Zach Schneider
Bio - Facebook - Twitter - E-Mail