VanDamme, Warnke Named UWS Athletes of the Year

By KBJR News 1

VanDamme, Warnke Named UWS Athletes of the Year

August 14, 2012 Updated Aug 14, 2012 at 11:01 PM CDT

Superior, WI (Northland's NewsCenter) --- UW-Superior's Taylor VanDamme and Dan Warnke have been named the 2011-12 Yellowjacket athletes of the year, it was announced on Thursday afternoon.

Both VanDamme and Warnke displayed distinctive and exceptional athletic accomplishments while at UW-Superior, playing softball and soccer respectively.

Warnke was also named Thursday as the recipient of the 2011-12 Mertz Mortorelli award, given to a men's student-athlete who has dedicated the most dedication to his team.

Women's soccer standout Mandee Akason, meanwhile, was awarded the 2011-12 Lydia Thering award, which is given to a women's student-athlete with the same criteria.

UW-Superior also gave out two scholar-athlete awards to recognize distinctive and exceptional scholastic accomplishment, with those going to baseball's Nick Bursik and basketball's Bri Davis.

The final school-wide award was the Yellowjacket award, given annually to a man and woman who greatly assisted the athletic department. Those awards went to baskeball's Dustin Ritchie and volleyball's Sarah Gruber.

Those winners, plus individual team winners from the 2011-12 athletic year, will be honored at the 2012 UW-Superior Hall of Fame banquet. That will be held on September 29 at Barkers Island Inn in Superior.

Posted by Zach Schneider
Bio - Facebook - Twitter - E-Mail