Northlanders Experience Confusion at Some Polls, Redistricting Takes Fall

By KBJR News 1

November 7, 2012 Updated Nov 8, 2012 at 12:02 PM CDT

Duluth, MN (Northland's NewsCenter) - Much of the confusion has been blamed on redistricting within the state that occurred back in February.

In some cases, it caused people to fall into a new voter precinct, which is where the confusion begins.

While standing in the voting line on Tuesday, some people claimed that they were not informed of the precinct shift beforehand, which is the responsibility of offices like the Saint Louis County Auditor's office.

Some stood in the same–day registration line for close to an hour before they discovered their precinct had changed.

But officials say anyone who experienced a precinct switch was informed beforehand, and given ample time to learn about the switch.

County Auditor Don Dicklich says, not only were voters mailed their new precinct information, but there were safeguards in place in case something went wrong.

"If they're not deliverable—so, if the address that was on there, that they had listed—was not deliverable, it comes back to us. And then, we would do something to try to find out where this person is," said Dicklich.

Dicklich added that precinct information had been made available to voters on the Secretary of State's website.

There was also an instance of one woman who had been registered at her previous precinct before the redistricting.

According to Dicklich, her pre–registration should've transferred over to her new precinct, but when the time came to vote, she says she was not registered, which meant she had to run back home, grab proof of address, and return only to wait an extra hour in the registration line.

Dicklich says this is a rare, but unfortunate occurrence.

Some Northlanders were also upset at the fact that cameras, kids, and in some cases, dogs, were allowed in the polling stations.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.